top of page

Italy Memoirs | Day II


10.04.14

I have never walked so much in my life, I am exhausted, we walked the width of Rome today. Visited The Colosseum today, again, and went inside which was massive! We then walked to The Trevi Fountain and threw our coins in to make wishes. Ellie threw four, I threw two. Today we realised how beautiful Rome is, the architecture is incredible and considering where we are staying is ‘pretty’ the centre of Rome is incredible. It’s clean, pristine, ancient and grand; and awe inspiring.

After The Trevi Fountain, we walked to The Pantheon and happened to stumble across it, rather than actively search for it. How we could stumble across something so large, I do not know! When we went inside after almost being stopped by one of the guards for an inappropriate amount of leg showing, we spent half an hour there. The enormity of the building is amazing and the fact it has stood for so long is unbelievable. The hole in the ceiling is huge and the ray of light that filters through is stunning. The whole aura of the place leaves you in awe and silence. You forget yourself at the marvel you are surrounded by. Although similar could be said about the city itself.

Once leaving The Pantheon we stopped for lunch having pizza, once again. Considering this pizza was enough for dinner and we paid only 15euro for two slices it’s so yummy and such good value! Walking around Rome today has made me feel as if I know so many little-hidden secrets and gems that I want to come back and take people to and share the experience with more people!

Maybe one day soon I will fly out for the day, arrive early morning and leave late at night, you could easily sleep on the plane and have the most incredible day.

After eating lunch we took a long but beautiful walk to the other side of the river to the tattoo shop for Ellie but arrived 2 hours early and so wandered around the small, quiet, cobbled streets, very quaint. And had delicious ice-cream that was so creamy and thick. Then we had lattes, which we both think was milk warmed up rather than a latte itself, to kill the time. After that, we then went and sat down by the river to just give our feet a break and pass the time. The water of The Tiber is weird because it is almost mint green in colour and flows so calmly, although you can sometimes see the strong undercurrents. Having passed 2 hours, of which were so relaxing, we finally went into the tattoo shop and Ellie was ready. After drawing the design multiple times because they were either way to large or just not right, the design was finally settled. She sat down and the man who was absolutely lovely was telling her to relax, he took half an hour to do a gorgeous little tattoo. It’s swollen but beautiful and very suited to her.

At the point, my feet are nearly going on strike and giving up on me. My feet both have huge water blisters on them that feel as if they’re grinding against the sole of my feet and I'm hobbling along like a crazy peg leg old lady and am getting strange looks from everyone as we pass them by. But still, we insist on walking to The Vatican City, which is about a 20-minute walk. We aren’t able to go inside because we have shorts on so instead we take selfies out the front, so we could say we’d been there.

Then we realised just how far away from ‘home’ we were. We were literally on the other side of Rome and both of us refused to pay for a taxi, so rather we walked and very slowly may I add due to how much pain I was in. We soldiered through and got there in the end and seeing that sofa wad literally the best, and most rewarding, feeling ever! I collapsed onto it and from that moment, being about an hour and a half ago, I have moved once. I genuinely think right now this sofa is my entirety.

Being in this apartment makes me wish it was mine, it could be so beautiful. I wouldn’t mind the cappuccino and croissant for breakfast every day! The Italians way of life is beautiful, even in this crazy city! I wish I could spend more time here than just one full day, and I'm sure Ellie feels the same.

Anyway, I'm off to relax some more, like I need it haha, and get ready for dinner later on. Catch up tomorrow for our new and exciting leg of our journey to Florence!


Related Posts

See All
bottom of page