top of page

Milanese Spring Wardrobe | 2018


As spring dawns in Italy, the weather is starting to warm up and the sun is peeping through rain clouds so I decided that I needed a complete overhaul of my wardrobe. My wardrobe is still swamped with winter jackets and heavy jumpers reminiscent of English weather but slowly I'm weeding them out and putting them into a suitcase for later on this year. Despite trying to be more adventurous with colour this year I managed to add some khaki green and terracotta orange but no more!


Day-to-Day


On a regular day at work I usually stick to a pair of skinny jeans and simple oversized t-shirt or jumper and, in all honesty, this isn't changing too much in spring.


My favourite combination right now is khaki green trousers/joggers with either a fitted basics camisole or an oversized t-shirt in grey or white with some simple flats. This is usually topped by a loose knit, loose fit, jumper or an oversized cardigan depending on the temperature.

If I'm not sporting my khakis instead I'll wear a simple pair of light fabric trousers, again with a camisole or oversized t-shirt, a light scarf around my neck and either ankle boots or ballet flats. Generally every outfit for work is combined with my lazy shopper bag (literally bought at the supermarket, but super cute and made in Ethiopia) crammed full of notebooks, novellas, my purse and wandering bits of paper and/or countless teaching resources. Not so glamorous... but that's life.


Park Days


One of the beauties of spring is heading to Monza Park almost every Saturday and on these beautiful days I prefer to be boho and comfortable.


Generally I wear my patterned harem pants, a bandeau top under a oversized, knitted camisole and have my trusty loose jumper in tow (as usual). If I know I'm going to walk a lot I'll wear proper trainers but if it's a casual stroll I'll stick with and old pair of ballet flats. As not to look so slouchy I'll combine it with either my trusty LV or Chanel (dupe) shoulder bag and I'm ready. As you're guessing I definitely don't wear this week-in-week-out but it's the basic combination of what I wear. If it's a bit cooler I grab my studded leather jacket from Zara, which I've had for as long as I can remember, or wear skinny jeans instead of harem pants.


Evenings


As you're probably guessing 400 words in to this blog post what I wear day-in-day-out has nearly no variation whatsoever. But for evenings, even though colder, I'll switch to either a grey or black bodycon midi dress with a pair of high heeled sandals, my little leather jacket or a Boucle jacket. If it's a bit warmer I'll wear one of those (you guessed it) oversized, light jumpers and a pashmina scarf with my Chanel (dupe) bag. To dress up this simplistic outfit combinations I put on one of my Charlotte Tilbury lipsticks that generally I don't use as they're too beautiful to be touched (my favourite being shade 'KKW') and plenty of MAC's 'Soft & Gentle' highlight for a glow.


So, too conclude you can see my wardrobe is extremely simplistic and minimalistic which isn't anything new for me and so I didn't really have anything new to write but I wanted to stick to my seasonal routine of writing these blog posts. This year in Italy, spring is having a strange transitional phase where it rains a lot and has the odd hot and sunny day so IRL I'm stuck between a wardrobe full of winter clothes and a desire to dress for sun drenched days.

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page